Gators’ Dawson King of 24-6A Swamp

By Brandon C. Williams

TIME AND again during the regular season, Dickinson baseball coach Bo Davis knew he could count on ace hurler Brian Dawson to deliver in the clutch. That faith helped the Gators to the 24-6a title and a trip to the region III bi-district round along with both Davis and Dawson receiving top honors on the recently released all-district team.
Davis was named coach of the year following a season in which Dickinson finished 22-9-2 and sported a district mark of 12-4. Dawson, who went 9-2 with a 1.51 ERA, was chosen as the 24-6a most valuable player. The senior did not allow a home run in his 74 innings of work and struck out 74 batters while walking only nine hitters over the course of the season.
The Gators also had a pair of unanimous choices on the first team in outfielder Kam Johnson and first baseman Kiko Nunez while second baseman Andrew Jimenez and third baseman Daniel Mosqueda received second team nods. Pitcher Charles Peacock was named as an honorable mention selection.
Clear Brook pitchers Kyle Knobloch and AJ Winger received honorable mention recognition along with Wolverines outfielder Sterling Stephens.
Shortstop Parker Osborn and utility player Garrett Poston of Clear Creek were named to the first team, while the Wildcats had pitcher Jason Jaekel named to the second team.
Clear Falls was represented on the first team by pitcher Braydon Fisher, outfielder Braxton Gerek and second baseman Jaden Horlacher. The Knights had catcher Willis Coleman, shortstop Joey Villareal and pitcher Tyler Zarella selected to the second team, while honorable mention was bestowed upon outfielder Ian Clark.
For Clear Springs, outfielder Michael Gillaspia, pitcher Blake Schultz and second baseman Dalin Stanton were named to the first team, while pitcher Jeff Arnaud and outfielder Colton Haught received second team honors. Pitchers Michael May and Riley Schulz and first baseman Drew Minter were named as honorable mention selections.
Friendswood received first place representatives in pitcher Brandon Deskins, designated hitter Thad Norman and outfielder Johnnie Nemecek. Pitcher Ryland Kaufman, catcher Ryan Vera and first baseman Bradley Wilcott were named as honorable mention.

About The Outhor

Leave a Commment

Leave a Comment