With the slogan “people helping people”, there are few events around the county that don’t attract the generosity of members of Lighthouse Charity Team, as the Galveston branch of Caliber Collision discovered when its staff held a food drive to help the county’s food bank end childhood hunger in these parts. The national chain of auto body repair and paint shops is now hoping to collect enough cash and food for five million meals – an increase of 60 per cent on last year – during its sixth annual Rhythm Restoration food drive, which in this area supports the Houston food bank and runs until May 19. Photo courtesy Caliber Collision

In its 21st year, Galveston College’s Leadership Galveston class saw 21 students graduate this month after three months exploring the idea of serving on city institutions or as elected officials. During the course, the students, professionals from varying careers, learnt about the leadership styles of the executives and elected officials who manage organizations including Galveston’s city hall, the city’s police and fire departments and its port, the county health district and even Moody Gardens and the 1894 Grand Opera House. Photo courtesy Galveston College

Science, technology, engineering and mathematics students planning to attend University Of Houston-Clear Lake next year will be able to dig into their coursework in a $65.7 million center and relax in another building worth $38.2 million if construction goes according to plan. From left, Glen Houston of UHCL, state representative Dennis Paul, William Staples and Zbigniew Czajkiewicz of UHCL and Bryan Bogle of Clear Lake Area chamber of commerce celebrate after breaking ground on the campus’ two new facilities.Photo courtesy UHCL

More than two dozen officials, volunteers and employees at La Marque city hall became more than a little wiser about the machinations of city planning when they completed a six-week foundation course in Texas A&M University’s Texas Citizen Planner city planning education program this month. Among the class were city manager Carol Buttler, economic development corporation executive director Alex Getty, public services director Les Rumberg, development coordinator Sussie Sutton, emergency management coordinator Charlene Warren and planning and zoning commission vice chairman Greg Cornett.Photo courtesy La Marque EDC

College Of The Mainland president Warren Nichols led the way when staff and students at the mainland institution paid tribute to Bennie Matthews for her service and leadership not only at the college but also within the county community. Matthews, an educator for 42 years, was a member of the college’s board of trustees for 31 years, including several as its chair, and, student Cameryn Tam said, broke racial and gender boundaries by being an African-American woman serving on several community-organization boards and committees before doing so became common practice. – Photo courtesy COM