City Café at 3302 Palmer Highway in Texas City has stood vacant since it’s doors closed for the last time in 2013. “Closed for repairs” was stated on the sign in front of the restaurant during those two years. The building was demolished this past week and soon it will be replaced by Neighborhood Emergency Center, a 24-hour emergency clinic. No word yet when construction will begin.

The Post’s email accounts were down from approximately 5:00pm, March 17, 2015 until 3:00pm, March 18, 2015 due to an unexpected glitch. We apologize for any inconvenience and ask if you sent an email to any of The Post staff, during time mentioned, will you please resend it. Thank you!

Tiny Grace Reid-Chapa and her mom, Meghan Reid, were part of the action as Texas City’s little league held its opening day parade on Saturday. See PLAY BALL in sports for the details.

Mudbug season is upon us
Crawfish season is here and with it comes festivals focused on mudbugs.
Kemah will host its fifth annual crawfish festival this weekend, with action in the city parking lot at 604 Bradford Avenue from Friday until Sunday.
Entertainment includes T-Broussard & The Zydeco Steppers and Wes Hardin & The Country Outlaws on Friday, Lil’ Porter & The Zydeco Hustlers, Breelan Angel and Wayne Toups on Saturday and Marcus Ardoin & Da Zydeco Legendz, plus Fred Rusk & The Zydeco Hi-Steppers on Sunday.
Crawfish is the food focus for the event but other dishes include alligator, frog legs, jambalaya and numerous fried foods.
Admission is $8 for everyone 13 and up and free for children under 12.
For tickets, go online to

Women’s panel stems from history
College Of The Mainland is celebrating Women’s History Month with a panel discussion next Tuesday, March 24.
The subject of the discussion panel is Women In STEM Fields, which encompass science, technology, engineering and mathematics.
Featured speakers on the panel are ABC13 Houston meteorologist Casey Curry, Lee College chief information officer Carolyn Ann Lightfoot, retired ExxonMobil chemical engineer Pamela Norman and University Of Texas health science center’s Candace Gamble.
The event will run from 12:30pm until 2:00pm in the learning resources auditorium on the COM campus at 1200 Amburn Road in Texas City.
Attendance is free and open to the public.
For information about Women In STEM Fields,
call 409-933-8413.

Cash for kids’ optimistic view
Two of the county’s Optimist clubs will be offering cash prizes for confident kids during their annual youth oratorical contest on March 28.
The Mainland Optimist Club of Texas City and the Noon Optimist Club of Galveston are putting up hundreds of dollars’ worth of prizes for girls and boys who can speak effectively on the topic of optimism.
The contest begins at 10:00am at Texas A&M Galveston’s ocean science building and this year’s topic is titled How My Optimism Will Help Me Press On To Greater Achievements Of The Future.
All children who will not have reached the age of 19 on May 16 are eligible to compete. They must prepare their speech themselves and speak for between four and five minutes.
There will be separate contests for boys and girls and the top three finishers in each contest will receive Olympic-style medallions.
The first-place winner in each contest will receive a $250 cash award and be eligible to compete at the Optimist Club’s regional contest in April, with a chance to compete for a $2,500 scholarship at its district contest in Houston on May 16.
For an entry form, go online to For other information, call contest chairman Bill McGarvey at 409-770-3537.

Galveston County 4-H club members had quite
a weekend when 18 members competed in a quiz at the San Antonio livestock show and its team of seniors Logan Ziegelmann, Jessica McCormick, Lindsay Woodcock and Arielle Driscoll took home the title, each netting a $5,000 scholarship for their performance.
Other seniors representing the club were Yvette Smith, Celeste Meyerhoff, Shelby Johnson and Rebekah Clark. Competing juniors were Wendell Smith, Faith Clark, Jacquelyn Flores, William Smith, Camille host, Major Shulse, Miky Alcorn, Lydian Eckeberger, Aizlynn Roark, Rory Vickery and Evelynn Smith.